Forest Church Award

Reverend Forrest Church was the voice of liberal theology in America during his tenure as Senior Minister of the Unitarian Church of All Souls from 1978 – 2009. Publishing over 20 books, writing newspaper columns, appearing on television shows, he countered the rise of the religious right at the time. Many of his aphorisms stand the test of time:

“Want what you have; do what you can; be who you are”

“We are more alike in our ignorance than we differ in our knowledge”

“Whether or not there is life after death, surely there is love after death”

“The purpose of life is to live in such a way that our lives will prove worth dying for” 

The Forrest Church Award is given to people who demonstrate courage and selflessness while working for the betterment of the world in which we live. 

 Past Award Recipients

  • Former United States President, Bill Clinton
  • The Hon. Michael R. Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York
  • Former President of Ireland Mary Robinson
  • Gail McGovern, President and CEO of the American Red Cross
  • Filmmaker Ken Burns
  • Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn, New York Times reporters and Pulitzer Prize winners
  •  Dr. Paul Farmer, Head of Partners in Health
  • Alicia Garza, Patrisse Cullors and Oman Tometi, the founders of #Black Lives Matter.